Page 1 of 4

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:26 pm
by Jim Henry
Returning to "Base Camp" is a useful technique
whenever something has gone wrong with the Miditzer and you just don't
know which way to turn. When you ask for help on the Forum you will
often be asked to return to Base Camp. When you are at Base Camp
everyone knows where you are. You can now easily return to Base Camp by
selecting the Miditzer Base Camp item on the Windows Start menu for
Miditzer. You will lose your current configuration but it is probably
bad if you need to return to Base Camp. You will also lose saved
combinations but you can say "No" when asked if you want to restore the
default combinations.____________________________Russ Ashworth coined the term "base camp" for a Miditzer configuration
that is played with the mouse or computer keyboard using General MIDI
sounds. Getting to base camp is your goal if you are just getting
started with the Miditzer. It should not take much effort to get to
Miditzer base camp. Almost any PC will run the Miditzer in base camp
configuration, often without the need to do anything more than install
the Miditzer program.

The most likely place to encounter a problem is getting the Miditzer
connected to the computer's MIDI Output device so you hear sound. The
Miditzer does not produce
sound! It produces MIDI messages. Those MIDI messages have to be sent
to a MIDI Output device so you will hear sound. If you don't hear sound
after installing the Miditzer you must resolve the issue before doing
anything more. Trying to press on if the base camp configuration is not
fully functional is the path to a lot of frustration.

There are two basic areas to look at if you don't hear sound. First try
to confirm that your computer's MIDI Output device will produce sound
from a source other than the Miditzer. Second, be sure the Miditzer is
configured to use the MIDI Output device on your computer that will
produce sound. Usually you can find the MIDI Output device by trial and
error if necessary.

If you have carefully looked at those two areas and you are still not
getting sound, post a new topic describing the configuration of your
computer and what you have tried. It is tough to diagnose a hardware
issue remotely but sometimes a little outside guidance will help you
see what you are overlooking. Sometimes just the exercise of carefully
documenting what you have tried will reveal the problem to you.Jim Henry2008-02-07 14:45:56

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:03 pm
by Joe
Russ and Jim H. have worked to simplify the installation of Miditzer .40.  You can start here:
http://www.virtualorgan.com/basecamp
If you have any questions just post them to this forum.
Thanks,
Joe

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:05 pm
by pastor
Thanks as always Jim,  .50 working just great although I wish you
would turn the tremulant back on the Horn stop as its useless to me
this way but I have others anyway.  Great Job

Clyde

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:37 pm
by Jim Henry
All you need to do to add the tremulant to the Post horn is change the patch settings on the output screen from 50, 50 to 50, 0.

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:11 pm
by pastor
Thanks again Jim, I'll do that.  Like so many others, I guess, I am sure enjoying this organ.

Clyde

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:21 pm
by pastor
Hi Jim,
    When I set down to the console last night I checked
the setting for the Post Horn and it turns out I had already made the
switch and I still don't have any tremulant on that stop.  I
remember making some reference to this a week ago or so and I thought
you had said that it had been turned off in the program versus the
external settings available.  Maybe I misunderstood what you meant
but in any case mine doesn't work .... any thoughts.  I have
removed all but the Miditzer.stg and it doesn't make any
difference. 

Clyde

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:28 pm
by JWFK
I sure hope this is being directed in the right place. I have just loaded version 0.60 - without any tabs being depressed and in combination 0/0 I still get sound. This is new to me as I have used version 0.50 very successfully.I pressed Can. and still got sound from all 3 manuals.I am sure this is some stupid thing I have done but am mystified.The appropriate word at the moment is "Help"ThanksJim Ketcheson

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:37 pm
by Jim Henry
Is the crescendo not fully off (down) perhaps?  It happens on real organs too.  
Jim Henry38777.6508912037

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:58 pm
by JWFK
That was the problem. Thank you.Curiosity now says what is sounding when the crescendo is all the way on when no stops are chosen. I don't really need to know but ?Jim

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
by JWFK
Thank You - great things are usually so simpleI haven't the words to express how much your efforts have meant to me personally - I sure wish I was about 70 years younger and in my early teens so I would have enough time to really get a handle on all this.Thanks againJim