tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Job one is installing the Miditzer and getting it configured
Post Reply
n88yanks
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:01 am
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12

tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by n88yanks » Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:06 am

Hi,
I'm new to midi medic and I'm trying to find a way that I can track the midi data being sent from my sequencing software (Sonar) to my tone modules to diagnose a problem. Can I use midi medic to do this? If so can someone point me to documentation on how to do this?

Many thanks!
Jim

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by Jim Henry » Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:29 am

Jim Henry

n88yanks
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:01 am
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by n88yanks » Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:42 pm

Thank you. That helps. I'm getting data in midi medic from my external keyboard (Yamaha CLP-170) but when I play my sequencer (Sonar) midi medic is not showing any data. Am I missing something? Do I need to install midi yoke or something to create a virtual port to receive data from Sonar?

I am running Sonar HS4.0 on Win XP to a MOTU pocket express to a QSR (port A) and my Yamaha (Port B).

It doesn't seem to matter what port I assign my inputs and outputs to, I'm still not seeing any data from my sequencer.

Thanks again for your help. I'm trying to track down a stubborn midi issue.

Jim

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by Jim Henry » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:42 pm

Yes you will need virtual MIDI cables. MIDI Medic is just like and other piece of MIDI gear, it is just virtual instead of real. You'll need to cable the MIDI Out of Sonar to the MIDI In of MIDI Medic and the MIDI Out of MIDI Medic to the MIDI In of the MOTU MIDI Interface.

Sonar -> MIDI Medic -> MOTU

LoopBe1 is one choice for a virtual MIDI cable. Midi Yoke is another but I think it has some issues with newer Windows systems.

I don't use MIDI Medic. I assume it has the ability to pass MIDI through from In to Out. If not, MIDI-OX does for sure.
Jim Henry

n88yanks
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:01 am
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by n88yanks » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:34 pm

Thank you. I've installed loopbe1 and it does what it says it will - but I'm still not able to trace any midi out data from Sonar. I must be missing something.

I have assigned the midi out in Sonar to the loopbe1 out port, but I'm still seeing no data.

Here is the ini file from Sonar:
[Options]
AutoConfigureMidi=0
PumpDataMsec=500
LocalOnPort=-1
EchoDxiInputToAllMidiTracks=0

[MIDI Input Devices]
0=LoopBe Internal MIDI
MaxInPort=0
[MIDI Output Devices]
0=LoopBe Internal MIDI
MaxOutPort=0
[MIDI Echo Devices]
MaxEchoPort=-1

I'm stymied - the input from my external Yamaha keyboard traces fine in loopbe1 but I get no data output from Sonar. (I've encountered a similar problem with midi-ox. Loopbe1 seems easier to use for the newbie.)

Thanks again for your help!
Jim

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by Jim Henry » Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:15 pm

LoopBe1 is simply a MIDI cable in virtual form. It does nothing other than move data from one MIDI Out to another MIDI In.

Did you connect the other end of the LoopBe1 virtual cable to the MIDI Medic MIDI In?
Jim Henry

n88yanks
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:01 am
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12

Re: tracing data from sequencer using midi medic

Post by n88yanks » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:02 am

That was it! Thank you! As soon as I assigned the loopbe1 as input into midi medic I tracked the data. Thank you so much for the help!

Jim

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests