Allen 4600

Photo Gallery for Member's Miditzers
StageaXSam
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12

Allen 4600

Post by StageaXSam » Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:02 am

I am new to this forum, but have had an interest for some time in having a virtual TPO. I have limited knowledge of electronics, but dabbled a little in the 60s/70s with Conn organs. Today, I have two Yamaha stage instruments ELX-1 (1993) and Stagea ELS-01X (2005) The latter is not sold in the US, but has 509 sampled voices, mostly orchestral. It has a few nice classic organ voices and a few TO voices, but they are limited and not very real. I really want the TO sounds and the console to have a look and feel of the real TPOs.

Hence the need for another console to convert to a virtual TPO. I first acquired a Conn 652 to convert it to MIDI. It should be an easier conversion than the Conn 650 or 651 because the 652 keying was multiplexed, and it aleady has an extra key finger under each manual key that is unused. It would require a MIDI system to be wired in. The original electronics are in serious trouble, and I had not intended to restore the Conn voices, just use the keying system and 4 channel amps, etc.

Shortly after acquiring the Conn, I found an Allen MDC4600 (3 manual Allen TO new in 1981). It already has the keyboard MIDI interface, so I thought it would be an easier conversion. Also, the combination action is standard (stops move) whereas the Conn had a few factory presets.

I would hope to ultimately have the 260SP, but am unsure whether the combination action could ever be wired into the Miditzer system to work as a normal TPO does.

With that background, I have a few questions of those of you who have experience.

Has any forum member converted an Allen MDC (digital) TO? And, if so, do you have time to give me some pointers as t how to set up my MIDI connections, etc.?