Getting to Miditzer Base Camp

Job one is installing the Miditzer and getting it configured
User avatar
billspal
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:02 am
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 0
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by billspal » Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:32 am

I had absolutely NO problems in installing the ver. 50 Miditzer.  I finally have a Wurlitzer in my living room. :)  However, I wasn't so lucky with the new v60.  It does not play and I'm at a loss.  I have not changed a thing on my computer.  I un-instaled the old version in the proper manner but no luck playing 60.  I'm using a Dell Dimension 8200 running XP and using the factory installed sound card.  Has anyone else had this problem?  There are no problems with the sound system--what stymies me is that the old version of Miditzer played and the new one won't--complete silence.  HELP  I've run out of ideas!!  bill-

User avatar
william luby
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:24 am

Post by william luby » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:52 am

Hi Bill.
This happened to me, i was messing around with computer keyboard and lost the sound checked everything only to discover the sound volume control icon at bottom of screen was muted, windows xp start up screen i mean, might help checking this.
william luby.  

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Post by Jim Henry » Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:29 am

Hi Bill,

Try deleting Miditzer.stg.  That will force the Miditzer to go
back to its default settings.  Nothing you said suggests that this
will solve your problem.  It is just a way of getting the Miditzer
to a standard starting point and eliminating some things that we could
otherwise overlook.

I've sometimes had the sound go away and had to reboot the computer to get it back.

User avatar
billspal
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:02 am
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 0
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by billspal » Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:51 pm

Thanks all--I'm off to download and re-try.  Thanks much for your help.--  bill s.

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Post by Jim Henry » Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:07 am

I've moved engrssc's post re the alpha version to the Development area.

User avatar
Dick F
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:09 pm
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 0
Location: Livonia, MI USA
Contact:

Post by Dick F » Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:07 pm

Help!
Just transferred Miditzer .08 from desktop to laptop to use at the Roland Organ.   Seems to work ok except for 1 thing:  press any piston,  solo, accomp, or pedal, and ALL the stops in that manual are actuated.   Had to fool around with the settings to get the proper channels for the 3 KBds, but didnt do much else.   What did I do wrong?
 
Dick F

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Post by Jim Henry » Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:55 pm

Are we talking about pressing pistons on the screen with the mouse, using the computer keyboard, or something on the Roland?  If something on the Roland, do you know what MIDI codes are being sent?

User avatar
Russ
Moderator Group
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:46 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: Vancouver. BC.

Post by Russ » Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:04 pm

Dick F wrote:Help!
Just transferred Miditzer .08 from desktop to laptop to use at the Roland Organ.   Seems to work ok except for 1 thing:  press any piston,  solo, accomp, or pedal, and ALL the stops in that manual are actuated.   Had to fool around with the settings to get the proper channels for the 3 KBds, but didnt do much else.   What did I do wrong?
 
Dick F
Sounds like its showing the MAPping to me. What memory level is selected?

User avatar
Dick F
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:09 pm
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 0
Location: Livonia, MI USA
Contact:

Post by Dick F » Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:03 pm

Jim (and Russ)
 
The problem occurs when the Pistons are pressed by EITHER using the mouse and screen OR using the KB keys.   Now I appreciate the quick response, but Im happy to tell you, I shut down the Miditzer and went to bed with the problem still existing, BUT when I booted up today it worked fine.   So, don't know what to say except thanks for being there.
 
I'm a 76 YO guy for whom computers came late in life and I do not really understand them like I would like to.   And Im not sure how much I can expect any of you to explain things to me,  but I am going to be asking some questions in a later post, and if it is more than you feel you want to involve yourself with,  just say so and I will understand.
 
 

User avatar
Jim Henry
Admin Group
Posts: 6134
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:44 pm
Spam Stopper: theatre organ
How many Style 216 did Wurlitzer make?: 12
Location: United States

Post by Jim Henry » Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:03 pm

You probably got into MAP mode without realizing it. The MAP piston lights up in MAP mode.There are some videos that explain the use of the combination memory at the www.VirtualOrgan.com site.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest